It allows an admin to specify 1 or more CRM users owned contacts as ‘orphan data’ - and then make that available to their agents.
Agents can then call this data, and if they call/connect, update their relationship to this contact in RiTA and the CRM.
Any CRM user who has contacts we wish to have agents update the relationship of, we will call the Orphanage.
It’s opt-in for every user when creating/updating the RiTA user, and only RiTA Admins can turn this on.
You can choose if the relationship update will be to transfer ownership of the contact to another CRM user, or grant a CRM user access to the contact if they didn't have it already.
A checkbox will be shown when logging a Call/Connected activity against a contact, allowing users to update the relationship.
An activity will be recorded on the contact when the relationship is updated, which also shows they type of relationship update and records this as a note on the contact.
For the purpose of this article, the example scenario we are using is:
In RiTA, Agent Adam has access to his own data from the CRM.
In the CRM, all of the 'orphaned' contacts are stored under Ric Fry (he's left the business, and we want to have his contacts engaged and their owners updated).
In RiTA, we want Agent Adam to call and engage with Ric's contacts, and then transfer ownership of Ric's contacts to Adam once he has called and connected with the contact.
Create the RiTA user you want to give access to the orphan data, linked to a CRM user, and make sure they have accepted their invitation to join RiTA.
Go Admin > User Management and click on the user you wish to update.
On the user you're updating, ensure that the user has the Orphan data pool from the CRM included in their mandatory filters - otherwise, the Orphan contacts won't show to the user in RiTA.
Turn the Orphan Access setting on, and select owned/accessible by, and then the Orphan data pool specified in the mandatory filters.
Specify how the relationship will be updated (the user becomes the contact owner in the CRM / the user is granted access to the contact in the CRM).
Save the User.
Ensure that the list you want the user working has the orphan data users contacts in the filters so they can show up in the list.
Then, it's up to your agents to make a call against the contact to update the relationships.
How do we configure this for an open database model?
If everyone already has access to the contacts, you won’t need to turn this setting on.
If you want to grant access, then select the Accessible button in the Update the relationship as settings.
Will it update the contact in the CRM?
Yes; RiTA will record a note on the contact, and either update the primary Marketing Contact, or grant access to the contact.
Does this work within a team?
Yes; there is no hard and fast rule around which CRM user can be considered the 'Orphanage'. You can specify any CRM user as the 'Orphanage' - but the RiTA user needs to be linked to a CRM user (so RiTA knows who to update the relationship for), and they need to have that user in their mandatory filters (so they can see them in RiTA) AND the Orphanage Access filters (so we know which contacts can be transferred).
Can anyone transfer ownership?
No; only those who have had the setting enabled on their user, AND the contact can be transferred/granted access to the RiTA users’ linked CRM user.
What happens to the original contact owner when we transfer ownership?
When a contact owner is transferred, the previous owner of the contact will be granted ‘access’, as opposed to being the direct contact owner. This way, the original owner can always see the contact.
Which activities does the checkbox show up on?
Call connections only.
Will it show up if the user already owns the contact?
Does the user who used to own the contact get notified that the contact is no longer owned by them?
No. RiTA will record a note on the contact for traceability.
Who can update Orphan Access?
RiTA admins only.
Which users show up in the Orphan Access filter selection?
Only CRM users, it’s the same filter used in the Mandatory filters. These filters need to line up, otherwise, the user will not be able to see the contacts that they wish to transfer ownership/update relationships on.